WATERTOWN CITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

PATRICIA B. LABARR Superintendent of Schools

STACEY J. EGER
Assistant Superintendent for Instruction

TINA M. LANE
Assistant Superintendent for
Personnel and Student Services

JOSHUA W. HARTSHORNE School Business Manager

JENNA J. RITZ Treasurer



BOARD OF EDUCATION

MARIA T MESIRES
President

MICHAEL R. STRUCHEN Vice President

CULLEY T. GOSIER JASON B. HARRINGTON NANCY C. HENRY BETH A. LINDERMAN SUZANNE C. RENZI-FALGE

MICHELLE R. GRAVELLE District Clerk

Watertown City School District Hall of Achievement Inductees Announced

Since 2001, the Watertown City School District has inducted 51 individuals into its Distinguished Alumni Hall of Achievement. The Hall's primary objectives are to recognize and celebrate the achievements of Watertown High School graduates by honoring those who have attained a high level of distinction in their lives and provide positive role models for students of the District. Inductees were named in 2001, 2003, 2005, 2010, and 2014, and are appropriately honored with plaques in the lobby of Case Middle School.

Additional nominees were sought from May through October 2020. Selections were made based on the demonstration of an outstanding and unique contribution or level of service to community, profession, or other good cause at the local, regional, national, or international level. Graduates must have graduated at least 10 years prior.

The Watertown City School District Distinguished Alumni Hall of Achievement Committee is pleased to announce the following nine new inductees, by class year:

• Richard A. Dillin (Class of 1946)

Mr. Dillin was an <u>American comics artist</u> best known for a 12-year run as an <u>illustrator</u> of the <u>DC Comics superhero</u>-team series *Justice League of America*. He drew 115 issues from 1968 until his death in 1980. As one of the nation's most prolific comic book artists, his work included Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern and Blackhawk.

• Eugene M. Renzi (Class of 1948)

Dr. Renzi is a retired Watertown obstetrician and gynecologist. After service as an Army physician, he practiced for more than 40 years, delivering thousands of North Country children. He has been active in various medical and community organizations, several of which he has served in consultant and leadership roles.

Alan K. Percy (Class of 1956)

Dr. Percy is known internationally for his work and research in the clinical neurosciences. Having been affiliated with Stanford University, the National Institutes of Health, UCLA and Baylor College of Medicine, he is currently professor of pediatrics, neurology, neurobiology, genetics, and psychology and the former head of child neurology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine. He is a highly recognized authority on Rett syndrome and related neurodevelopmental disorders.

Mary-Margaret Humes (Class of 1972)

Ms. Humes is an actress, having made appearances in more than 50 national network television programs, including six seasons on Warner Bros.' *Dawson's Creek*. She has guest starred in several shows, including *Matlock, Murphy Brown, Eeerie, Indiana, Grey's*

Anatomy, CSI: Crime Scene Investigation and Criminal Minds, as well as a number of Hallmark Channel television movies.

Mary Gay Scanlon (Class of 1976)

Congresswoman Scanlon, an education and human rights advocate and attorney, currently represents Pennsylvania's 5th Congressional District. She was first sworn into the United States House of Representatives in 2018. She previously served as national counsel at a major US law firm, where she directed and supervised over 600 lawyers in 15 offices in providing more than 50,000 hours of pro bono legal services annually to low-income clients and non-profit organizations.

James Berkman (Class of 1978)

Mr. Berkman is a nationally recognized leader in the sport of lacrosse and the head coach of the Salisbury University men's lacrosse program. In his 33 seasons, he has had 560 wins, the most in NCAA history in any division, including 12 national championships and is a National Lacrosse Hall of Fame inductee.

William A. Cliby (Class of 1979)

Dr. Cliby is a gynecologic oncologist, surgical consultant and professor at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science. In addition to his clinical practice, he is active in research and education nationally, including service as a fellowship program director and as the author of 220 peer-reviewed publications.

Robert L. Barry (Class of 1981)

Mr. Barry is an engineer, inventor, and co-founder/CEO of four medical device companies. He holds more than 30 patents in the fields of cardiology, radiology, pulmonology and thoracic surgery.

Maggie Rizer Mehran (Class of 1996)

Ms. Rizer Mehran has had an extensive and highly successful modeling career, having appeared on the covers of major fashion magazines, and walked runways at countless shows for internationally renowned companies. She has remained active in supporting and increasing awareness of various charitable causes.

"The committee's work was quite challenging. We were reminded of the outstanding and diverse accomplishments of our graduates. So many have achieved great success in their careers and have also made valuable contributions to their communities and the world," said Rande Richardson, Hall of Achievement committee chair and 1988 WHS graduate. "There is much to celebrate. We look forward to sharing their stories in more depth with the community and our students as well as welcoming additional inductees in future years." "During this unprecedented time, it is important for all of us to reflect on and be reminded of the good in the world," said Superintendent LaBarr, Watertown City School District, "It is an honor and a pleasure to recognize and celebrate the achievements of Watertown High School graduates who have attained a high level of distinction in their personal and/or professional lives."

The committee is now discussing various options to formally recognize inductees later this year and provide greater biographical information. The committee also hopes to strengthen ties among graduates through the creation of a more formal alumni organization and process to accept future nominations on a regularly scheduled basis.

Committee members:

Rande Richardson, '88, Chair Kenneth Forbes, student Jeri Grant Gosier '02 Michele Gehring Jeican '84 Patricia LaBarr Neicia Smith, student Dr. Jason White '92

Previous inductees:

Floyd L. Bajjaly Gary C. Beasley Jerry J. Belden Martha E. Bellinger Justin Burns Karl R. Burns David N. Camaione W. Henry Case Richard D. Chapin Alice Ottersland Cooper Delos M. Cosgrove Jeffrev L. Cougler George Emerson Cox, Jr. Marc D. Donohue Frederick E. Exlev Roger A. Gallup

Catherine Common Johnson Joan Marsh Jones Ted Keegan Robert S. Lansing Ian S. Lustick David S. Lustick Rita Frattali Mackey Anthony C. Malara John M. McHugh Linda Terrell Mitchell Karen L. Morris Viggo Mortensen Carol A. Pflugheber Robert A. Piche Robert W. Purcell Peter H. Remington Lorraine Adams Revelle Joseph L. Rich

Brent J. Richardson Rande S. Richardson Bruce E. Rippeteau Georgia A. Root Richard F. Schwerzmann Jack Scordo Arthur J. Seaman Craig P. Sirianni Allen L. Smith Samuel J. Stabins Francis E. Sweet Steven A. Van Slyke D. Peter VanEenenaam Arthur E. Williams William M. Wolf John L. Woodward, Jr. Kenneth Zeigler